Happy Hallowine!

It’s two days to ghoul and if you haven’t found something for your goblet, I have some suggestions for you. And you don’t have to go into the dark recesses of the catacombs to find them. Most were at World Market at spooktacular price points.

Remember a while back I wrote that when I make a bad pun, you can take a sip? Start now before they get really horrific.

Am I bewitched by a label? I confess, I am a big sucker for fun label art. HubbyDoug just looks at me, rolls his eyes and spins his head around a few times. Good thing he hasn’t started speaking in tongues; I might have to consult an exorcist.

I stayed with the blood reds this year, in keeping with the season. Here is my bare bones list, in no particular order:

  • Rest In Peace ~ 2011 California Red Wine Blend ~ I quite liked the fruit forward, raspberry jammy vibe. It settled into pleasant earthier tastes of tobacco, leather(face) and the tiniest whisper of chocolate on the finish. A nice sipping wine to keep the vampires from your door.
  • Monster Mash ~ 2012 Lodi Red Blend ~ A melding of Lodi Zinfandel and Petit Sirah. It surprisingly had a nose as thin as Slenderman. But no matter; it had a nice tobacco ` cherry vibe with high alcohol and oak flavors. If you have a taste for a somewhat grounded, yet bright red go for this mash. It’s a graveyard smash.
  • Trick ~ 2013 California Red Table Wine ~ The lightest in color, this Trick was a little more of a tart-y treat (kind of like most women’s Halloween costumes). It tasted of unripened strawberry and cherry, and reminded me a little of War Heads sour candy with its pucker-y, ‘get you in the sides of the mouth’ effect. Nice if you like a little zing in your wine.
  • Phantom ~ 2011 California Red ~ Bogle Vineyards ~ This phantom was no misty apparition, from the moment I opened the bottle I detected a spirited nose of rich, raspberry jam. It had the deepest blood red color of the four and tasted of blackberry with a little smoke. The flavours were subtle and lurking at first, then I slowly became aware of them. But I wasn’t afraid. This was a friendly ghost.

On All Hallow’s, the devil is in the details. And I hope these few suggestions help get you started to find the most fun for your celebrations. Scaring up some poison for fright night should be like child’s play. But stay away from the two buck Chuck(y).

I hope you all have a safe and happy Halloween!

Boo!

©TheWineStudent, 2014

Leave a Reply

