Top Three Picks for Thanksgiving Dinner: Red, White and Bubbles

The snow is starting to swirl and I’m so excited to see my sisters, Megan and Shiona, who are coming to visit for the holiday! This year, instead of my safe and sure one wine dinner, I want to make it a little more festive. We’re still going to serve Pinot Noir ~ it’s a favorite of HubbyDoug and I’m thankful for him, so without question, it’s on the menu.

But I’ve found myself enjoying whites this year; George at Royal Park Fine Wine in Strongsville suggested Gerwurztraminer as a nice change of pace. He said that the spice of this wine would beautifully coax out the flavors of the turkey (which on its own can be a little mellow) and any vegetable dishes we had on the side.

Two should do, right? No, I don’t think so. I wanted to begin the celebration on a fun note. Bring on the bubbly!

So… here are my choices for Thanksgiving dinner, 2013:

 2012 LaMarca Prosecco (Italy) ~ It was described as a great sparkler that was not lip puckering dry, but also not cloyingly sweet. The tasting notes say that it is fresh and vibrant feel with essences of golden apple, white peach and honeysuckle. I believe I’ll pair this with a warm Brie and toast points, and fresh fruit.

2012 Villa Wolf Gerwurztraminer (Germany) ~ Combining fruit and spice should be a nice counterbalance to the mild turkey, and just enough acidity to cut through some of the fat from the gravy.

2012 Decoy Pinot Noir (Sonoma County) ~ Steadfast and true, Pinot Noir, with its low to medium tannins is a staple for lighter fare. Since it is also has high acidity, it, too, will be perfect with lots of gravy and mashed potatoes dripping with butter (blood pressure cuff not included). Tasting notes say that essences of red fruit (red cherry, strawberry and the tang of raspberry) are prominent. I think it’ll be interesting to experience how differently the food tastes with each wine choice.

I am thankful for wonderful family and friends; those who have made a long trip to be with us in the Cleve, and those who are with us in spirit. And I feel very thankful to those of you who read the blog. It means a great deal to me.

No matter what you choose to pair with your holiday dinner, I hope you all have a wonderful, happy and safe Thanksgiving.

Cheers!

©TheWineStudent, 2013

Leave a Reply

