No-jolais

 

When she wrinkled her nose and winced, I knew that maybe I shouldn’t go there. I’d asked my local wine consultant about a 2012 Beaujolais I’d just found in my wine collection. Low in the rack and fairly dusty (I guessed I missed a few spots with the Swiffer), it had been long forgotten. I wondered if it would it be worth opening or would I have a bottle of imported vinegar? The wince should’ve been enough of a deterrent. I’d found last year that it was somewhat lacking with my holiday meal; even with a mild turkey, it didn’t really come alive. So, wincing looks aside, I chose to test it. I just don’t feel right about dumping a bottle unless I know it really has no hope.

The good news was that it didn’t smell like a musty basement, the bad was that it really hadn’t gotten any more depth or interest over the year in a bottle. At least it was consistent.

Traditionally, Beaujolais is to be consumed young, and only in a rare vintage, could you find a more mature, drinkable offering. According to Wine Spectator, the 2013 vintage is particularly interesting due to a rainy spring season, late flowering and subsequent delayed harvest, and a larger difference between the Beaujolais Nouveau and the Beaujolais – Villages Nouveau (the latter having much more ‘grip’ and length of finish).

I know, I missed the big release on November 21 with all it’s fanfare and celebration. And perhaps if we’re feeling like we want to revisit already explored territory over the holiday, we’ll try a bottle of the ’13.

But I think we’ll be busy sampling a few treats I’ve lined up to celebrate and give thanks.

Cheers!

©TheWineStudent, 2013

Leave a Reply

