Breathe Easy: The Winebreather Carafe

The Winebreather image via givesimple

The Winebreather image via givesimple

A few posts back, I wrote about decanters and aerators and found that there was a significant difference in wine when you use them. I recently read about the Menu Winebreather Carafe. Menu claims that it adds 10x more oxygen to the wine in under 2 minutes…hmmm…that’s pretty interesting … and fast.  When you decant, you have to wait about 2 hours to to get the full effect of the oxygenation. Aeration is pretty instantaneous by comparison.

The way it works: You press the decanter onto the top of any wine bottle then flip it over to pour the wine into the decanter and serve. The beauty of this design is that if there’s any wine left in your decanter, and that’s a big if, you flip again, pour the remaining wine back into the bottle to store in the fridge. That’s kind of cool.

It retails for $49.95 and is available pretty much everywhere including Menu, Wine Enthusiast and Amazon.

Having a little science background (which can be a dangerous thing) I couldn’t just go by marketing copy and a few gold stars (although it seemed to score a lot of them).

Oh no, I’m going to do my own experiment ~ decanter vs. aerator vs. winebreather. I’d like to see for myself what’s what. Alas, I’ll have to wait a couple of days for the last constant; the Winebreather isn’t available at my local wine shops.  That’s a bit of a drag but it’s okay.

I’ll be sure to write a full report on my findings. But to pass the time, I’ll continue to enjoy my Rabbit. The aerator, I mean.

Cheers!

©TheWineStudent, 2013

Leave a Reply

