Cool Yule

It’s Christmas Eve! And this year I’m giving a nod to my Canadian roots by making a traditional homemade Tortiere. Since it’s a pie that combines both ground beef and pork, I had to think about the type of wine I wanted to pair it with. We’re also going to have steamed crab and caramelized brussels sprouts, so there are going to be a few taste sensations going on. To my way of thinking, ground beef isn’t heavy enough to warrant cracking a brawny Cabernet. And coupling it with the ground pork would steer me to a lighter but flavourful Pinot. Throw the crab into the mix and you see my dilemma. Some might say that Chardonnay would be de rigueur.

I’m generally not one to stick to the rules so I looked at our little collection and chose…an 07 Chateau Bianca Pinot Noir from Willamette Valley. It was a thoughtful gift from our friend Jeff and 07 was a good year for Pinot in the valley. I have a difficult time drinking white wine this time of year. And it may be because I associate whites with summer (narrow-minded, I know). Or maybe there’s enough white on the ground without it being in my glass.

I want to take this time to wish you all a very Merry Christmas! I hope that you are able to gather close to those you love and share the joy of the season.  And if there are those you love who have left for more heavenly places, I’ll join you in raising a glass to them.

Cheers!

2 comments on “Cool Yule

  1. Kristin says:

    If I leave now, I might be able to make it for dinner!!

Leave a Reply

