Turkey Lurking

I hope you all had a good Thanksgiving! Mine was crazy busy with lots of family, friends, good food ~ and wine, natch! I spent the better part of today finishing up converting the last of the leftover turkey into something edible and available for a quick heat-up over the next few weeks. I also found myself with a leftover bottle of Beaujolais Nouveau.

We tried a bottle with our Thanksgiving dinner and found it was an interesting choice. And I mean that in all honesty. It was interesting. Not in the way doing the MC Hammer dance at a formal wedding is ‘interesting’ but…intriguing. On the first sip, I found it to be simple and super sweet with a quick flash of bitter that disappeared as as quickly as it emerged. I knew that pairing it with the turkey and cranberry/hot sausage stuffing would be necessary; this wasn’t a stand alone, quaffable wine. I’ve enjoyed Gamay before with turkey and it’s usually a nice, light alternative to other reds; present but not overpowering. But again, this is a superyoung wine. Sipping after the next bite helped increase the berry essence and made it much more pleasant.

Since I can’t keep the bottle for longer than 3-6 months, I’ll have to give it another go pretty soon. I wonder how it will fare with turkey casserole?

Cheers!

© Heidi Thompson and TheWineStudent, 2012.

Leave a Reply

