Cool Yule

Tonight, I’m off to visit friends for a Christmas dinner party and I wasn’t sure what wine to bring. I don’t really know what’s on the menu, and I didn’t know how to ask without sounding wrong somehow.
I want to bring something nice and friendly; not too sweet but not too bombastic, either. Since I’m still learning, and haven’t accrued the knowledge yet to blindly pick a winner, I’ve narrowed it down to two: an 09 Santa Cristina Sangiovese and an 08 Cloudline Pinot Noir. This Sangiovese is blended with 10% Merlot and 5% Cab Sauv, and that’s interesting to me, but the Cloudline boasts that it is “rich, charming and harmonious.” Who wouldn’t want to take that to a dinner party?
I dunno. I’ve been puzzling and puzzling…and now my puzzler is tired.
Oh what the hell, I’ll bring them both. And I’ll let you know how they were.
Cheers!

Leave a Reply

