Wine Tasting 101~ An Italian Stallion

A new favorite

A new favorite.

Tonight, I had a romp with a great Italian Sangiovese (Brunello di Montalcino): an 06 Casanova di Neri.  Since my husband brought the bottle back with him from a recent trip to Italy, I asked for his input.  His take: a mix of black currant on the first nose, that melted into a sweet toffee as the sips went on. I thought it had more of a strawberry preserve  vibe on the nose with a slightly astringent feel. At the end, it morphed into an almost cherry pie, dessert-like finish.  So sinful and gorgeous, it almost made my eyes roll back…but not quite.

What I know of old-world wine is that the first sip will generally be just like the end: good to the last drop. And that’s what many like and depend on in a wine. That’s what draws them to old world wine vs. new world wine time and time again: they always know what to expect when it’s rolling in around in their glass.

It was my first foray into the world of Italian wine and I can honestly say that I wasn’t disappointed. A few more glasses and I might even need a cigarette.

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

